

## 2025 Annual Trustee Conference AAPITA GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING



Sunday January 26, 2025 4:15 – 5:10 Tofanelli Room - Sheraton Grand

- WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS
  - QR Code Check In
- Business Meeting
  - Secretary's Report Alton Wang
    - Approval of the November 22, 2024, Minutes
  - Treasurer's Report—Harris Mojadedi
  - o Membership Update Report -- Co-Chairs Betty Ho and Lena Tran
  - Vice Chair Trisha Murakami
  - Chair Report Whitney Yamamura
- Legislative
  - o AB 88 (Ta) CCLC priority
  - Election Impacts
    - Newly Elected Officials/Committee Members
      - Federal
        - Senate
          - Adam Schiff
        - House of Representatives
          - Lateefah Simon D-12, Oakland
          - George Whitesides D- Santa Clarita
          - Gil Cisneros D-31, Norwalk
          - Luz Rivas D-29, Los Angeles
          - Laura Friedman D-30, Burbank
          - Dave Min D-47, Irvine
          - Derek Tran D-45, Garden Grove
          - Adam Gray D-13, Merced
          - Sam Liccardo D-16, San Jose
      - State
        - Senate Education Committee
          - Senator Sasha Renée Pérez (D-Alhambra)
          - Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh (R-Yucaipa) Vice Chair
          - Senator Christopher Cabaldon (D-Yolo)
          - Senator Steven Choi (R-Irvine)
          - Senator Dave Cortese (D-San Jose)
          - Senator Lena A. Gonzalez (D-Long Beach)

- Senator Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-San Bernardino)
- Assembly Higher Education Committee Members
  - o Assemblymember Mike Fong (D-Alhambra) Chair
  - Assemblymember Carl DeMaio (R-San Diego) Vice Chair
- National DEI Restrictions/Funding,
- Statewide/Local
  - Relationship building with newly elected officials
    - National, State, Regional, and Local
  - Newly elected Community College Trustees
    - ACCT National Legislative Summit
      - February 9-12, 2025
- Support for Immigrant Students -
- CCCT Updates/Announcements Sue Chan
  - CCCT Board Elections
    - Upcoming 2025 Board 7 Vacancies 5 filled
    - Applications may be submitted Jan 1 Feb 2025
    - Election occurs March 10-April 25, 2025
    - Term commences June 25, 2025
    - Current AAPITA Members Debbie Ikeda & Sue Chan
- CEOCCC Board
  - Char Perlas
  - Sunita Cooke
  - Julianna Barnes
  - Dyrell Foster
  - Mojdeh Mehdizadeh
- Chancellor's Office Deputy Chancellor Rowena Tomaneng,
  - APAHE 2025 April 10-11, 2025 and Senior Leaders Convening
  - APAHE LEAP Advance-Mellon Grant Opportunity for Humanities Professionals
  - The National Council of Asian Pacific Americans Advocacy Items
- New Business
  - ACCT News Debbie Ikeda
  - Website Contributions Whitney Yamamura
    - Academic Articles
    - In the News (Articles, Features, Op-Eds)
    - Photos (Lobby Day, ACCT, Tahoe)
- Next Meeting CCLC Annual Trustee Conference
  - o May 9-11, 2025
  - o Everline Resort, Lake Tahoe
  - Registration opens in February
- Adjournment